Let’s travel together.

Five SADC countries may soon head for common visa regime

Read Article

Reema LokeshHainan

Travel to five countries in the SADC (Southern African Development Community ) region may soon be a seamless journey. Angola, Namibia, Zambia, Botswana and Zimbabwe may soon have a common visa plan that will encourage tourism flow in the region and facilitate seamless travel within the region. This announcement was made by Walter Mzembi, minister for tourism and hospitality, Zimbabwe at the WTTC Global Summit on April 25, 2014 in Hainan, China. The minister will be talking up this proposal strongly for clearance at the 56th Summit of Commission of Africa to be held in Angola in May 2014. The minister further added that he is very keen on working on a bilateral agreement with India to activate visa on arrival for Indians into Zimbabwe.

South Africa will also be actively supporting the initiative. Thulani Nzima, chief executive officer, South African Tourism confirmed this at the event. He added that this will be an encouraging initiative to offer the best the region has in terms of tourism.