Let’s travel together.

IAAI re-elects Biji Eapen as national president

Read Article


The IATA Agents Association of India (IAAI) recently held is fifth biennial national convention ‘Icon 2013’ at the Retreat Hotel and Convention Centre in Mumbai. ‘Emerging challenges and opportunities in aviation industry was the theme of the convention’. Biji Eapen (chairman and CEO of SpeedWings Aviation Academy) was re-elected as the national president at the annual general meeting held after the convention. He has been re-elected for the seventh consecutive period by IAAI members. V L Jaghannathan has been re-elected as general secretary, while S Saldanha as national treasurer. The new managing committee members include: Naresh Rajkotia (director western region), Rajendra Churiwala (director east region), Kuku Kumar (director northern region), Surinder Kumar (director northern region), TK Gopakumar (director south region). Commission issue was one of the topics of discussion at the convention this year on which Eapen also brought out a white paper on the issues.

The government and legal affairs committee will be headed by Harjit Singh Chawla of Speed Air; member development committee by Aveek Ghosh, managing director, Travel Wings; tourism and diplomatic committee by Gladys Stephen (Meena), managing director, Taanya Travels; public relations by Prema Radhakrishnan, director, Emerald Airways; I-Top and computerisation by Jagdeep Bhagat, chairman, Vee Bee Tours & Travels; Industrial and legal affairs by S Faisal, chairman, Magellan Travel Services. These new office bearers will hold the positions for two years.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.