Let’s travel together.

Tourism for Tomorrow

The World Travel and Tourism Council announces 2019 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards finalists and India's Lemon Tree Hotels is one of the them

The World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC) has announced the 15 finalists for its 2019 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards. The 2019 finalists are organised into the following new categories: Climate Action, Investing in People, Destination Stewardship, Social Impact and Changemakers. The Changemakers Award will put a special spotlight on fighting the illegal wildlife trade through tourism, an issue that is also a focus of WTTC with its Buenos Aires Declaration on Illegal Wildlife Trade launched last year.

The WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, now in their fifteenth year, showcase business practices of the highest standards that balance the needs of ‘people, planet and profits’ within the Travel & Tourism sector. All 15 finalists illustrate a strong commitment to supporting change, transformation in business practices and consumer behaviour towards a more environmentally conscious sector.
Following a rigorous three-phase judging process, which includes an onsite evaluation, winners of the 2019 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards will be announced during the awards ceremony at the 19th WTTC Global Summit in Seville, Spain from 2 – 4 April 2019. Gloria Guevara, president & CEO, WTTC, said, “This year’s Tourism for Tomorrow Awards shine the spotlight on those organisations which are leading the way in sustainable travel and tourism. They reflect WTTC’s Strategic Priorities of Climate Action, Destination Stewardship, Future of Work, and Social Responsibility. I am delighted that in this 15th anniversary year, we are particularly highlighting initiatives which are combatting the illegal wildlife trade, in line with the WTTC Buenos Aires Declaration which was launched in April 2018. As pioneers in the world of Travel & Tourism I applaud all these finalists on their business philosophies and encourage the wider sector to look to them as leading examples for the future of sustainable travel.”

Awards lead judge, Prof. Graham Miller, executive dean and professor of sustainability in Business, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at the University of Surrey said, “The shortlisted projects and businesses demonstrate community development, sustainable employment practices, female empowerment, innovative environmental technology and protection of land and marine wildlife as well as positively contributing to the broader Sustainable Development Goals. Their efforts in these areas are a beacon to the rest of the travel sector in signalling the way to a more sustainable world.”

The finalists of the 2019 WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, which is headline sponsored by AIG Travel for the fourth year are:
Climate Action Award, for organisations undertaking significant and measurable work to reduce the scale and impact of climate change:

  • Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort, Aruba
  • The Brando, Tetiaroa Private Island, Tahiti
  • Tourism Holdings Limited, New Zealand
  • Investing in People Award, for organisations demonstrating leadership in becoming an exciting, attractive, and equitable employer in the sector:
  • Lemon Tree Hotels, India
  • Reserva do Ibitipoca, Brazil
  • Shanga by Elewana Collection, Tanzania
    Destination Stewardship Award, for organisations helping a place to thrive and bring forward its unique identity for the benefit of its residents and tourists:
  • Grupo Rio da Prata, Brazil
  • Masungi Georeserve, Philippines
  • St. Kitts Sustainable Destination Council, St. Kitts
    Nevis Social Impact Award, for organisations working to improve the people and places where they operate:
  • Awamaki, Peru
  • Intrepid Group, Australia
  • Nikoi Island, Indonesia
    Changemakers Award, this year focused on organisations fighting the illegal wildlife trade through sustainable tourism:
  • Kelompok Peduli Lingkungan Belitung (KPLB), Indonesia
  • SEE Turtles, USA
  • The Cardamom Tented Camp, Cambodia
    The winner of each category will be determined by the WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2019 Winners’ Selection Committee, chaired by Fiona Jeffery OBE, Tourism for Tomorrow Awards Chair and founder & chairman, Just a Drop. Fiona Jeffery OBE said, “The role of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards is to inspire and educate. They identify responsible leadership in our industry and outstanding role models from which best practices can be learnt and built. Our role is to spread this knowledge and encourage a broader appreciation of environmental and ethical governance which helps drive a growing commitment to sustainable tourism practices, so they become part of the DNA of our industry and not the exception.